Newswires, newspapers and magazines I have written for

I started writing for national newspapers at an age earlier than most newswriters.  After graduating from college at the age of 19 and winning as best editor -in-chief in Region 1, I was hired as feature writer of the Ministry of Public Information and Malacanang Press Staff. I was assigned at San Fernando, La Union. But I was not happy writing for the Marcos government and got out. I joined DEPTHNews of the Press Foundation of Asia and was paid P300 for every article I wrote. Because I was a prolific writer, it was a good source of income besides the fact that the writing assignments were challenging.

From thereon, I started writing for international newspapers as free lancer. Writing has been good to me. It has given me name and fortune. I am not ashamed to say I am paid well, very well. To give you an idea, one feature I write is paid from P12,000 to 16,000 pesos. I am paid an average of US$300 per story. If I write a whole topic for a say, 40 – 45 pages magazine, I am paid US$3,000 to 4,000 .

As part of my giving back, I organize every summer journalism training classes for young budding writers. I train 25 to 35 students every year, pay for all their expenses, provide them all the skills they need in a two-week training session with computer and Internet skills.  At the end of every training, their parents come and witness the works of their children  where they join us in closing rites.

International

1.DEPTHNews of the Press Foundation of Asia

2. Gemini News Service, London

3. Panos News and Features, London

4. Environmental News Service, USA

5. Earth Times, USA

6. Asia Observer, Norway

7. Canadian Times

8. IslamOnline

9. Far Eastern Agriculture, UK

10. Brunei Times

11. The Guardian, UK

12. Environmental News Network, USA

National

1. Philipines Daily Inquirer

2. Manila Bulletin

3. Today

4. Panorama

5. Peoples Journal

6. Daily Express

7. Manila Times

Local

1. Baguio Midland C ourier

2. Gold Ore

3. Cordillera Post

4. Cordillera Today

5. Zigzag

Leave a Reply

